Call 01493 488432 to book your table or simply explore our site.
First Course header and Rolls
Priory Farm Menu 2015
F I R S T C O U R S E S
Plain Roll 40p each • Garlic Roll 60p • Garlic and Cheese Roll 80p • Gluten free Roll 80p
THREE PRAWN COCKTAIL
Mediterranean prawns, tiger prawns and cocktail prawns served with iceberg lettuce and cocktail sauce
Smooth home-made chicken liver pate served with port sauce
AVOCADO AND CRAYFISH
Fanned avocado, crayfish tails in a sweet chilli sauce and mixed leaves
Galia and canteloup melon with fresh pineapple and raspberry coulis
TOMATO MOZZARELLA CIABATTA
Beef tomato and soft mozzarella cheese, drizzled with olive oil and basil dressing upon ciabatta toast
KILN ROASTED SALMON
Flakes of salmon with tiger prawns combined with lemon mayonnaise on a bed of mixed leaves
Tossed in garlic and herb butter grilled loundza (smoked loin ham) and halloumi cheese
Shredded duck with cucumber, spring onion and plum sauce, wrapped in a floured tortilla
BBQ AND HONEY WINGS
Six meaty wings dressed in our special BBQ and honey sauce
LARGE PRAWNS AND MUSSELS
Large prawns and large mussels coated with a light creamy garlic herb butter
Strips of Chicken breast served with our peanut, coconut thai flavoured sauce
Deep fried crispy and crunchy, with a tartare sauce dip
(Ideal for Two)Chicken fingers, breaded mushrooms, potato skins, scampi, goujons, onion rings with a garlic mayonnaise dip
Main Course header
MAIN C O U R S E S<br>
Please choose two accompaniments with all main courses including blackboard selection.
Home Cut Chips
Potato dish of the day
Today’s Mixed Selection
Diced Crisp Salad
Coleslaw with Cashews
3 Grain Rice
Special Menus header and text
Priory Farm Children’s Menu
Priory Farm Dessert Menu
Priory Farm Pre-Order Menu
A few images of the Priory Farm Restaurant
Walk One Text
Drive along Herringfleet Road which is beside the Garage opposite the Priory Restaurant. Drive approximately 1 mile and turn right into the public car park. Walk the Herringfleet Hills, this is a picturesque stroll amongst trees with views of the Broads. Extend the walk to the Old Water Mill which has commanding views of the Waveney River. Drive back to the Priory Restaurant for a satisfying lunch.
Walk One Two
Leave your car at the Priory Restaurant and walk down our driveway to the main road, turn right towards the River and turn right again at the Boat Shop and follow the path along the river edge. Continue until you reach Fritton Woods, walk through the woods and meet a road which will take you to the Decoy Public House. Either return via the main road or simply follow the original route back again to the Priory. By now you should be ready for a welcoming lunch or evening meal.
A brief history of the St. Olaves Priory
The remains of a 14th century Augustinian priory on a level site beside the River Waveney. St Olave’s Priory was established by Augustinian friars around 1216, under the patronage of Roger Fitz Osbert. The best preserved part of this small priory is the refectory undercroft, a beautifully vaulted brick building that was converted for a time into a cottage.
Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries under Henry VIII the priory was owned by Sir Henry Jerringham. In 1547 Jerringham incorporated the monastic buildings into a new manor house on the site. This house lasted until 1784. In 1823 stone from St Olave’s was used to refurbish the parish church at Herringfleet. Two years later the refectory undercroft was converted into a cottage, which was inhabited until 1902.
Of the original monastery only parts of the refectory, cloisters, and church survive. To the north of these buildings part of Jerringham’s 16th century mansion can be discerned. The 13th century church, to the south of the cloister, consists of 5 bays. Parts of the columns that supported the roof of the cloister walk still stand, as do sections of the west wall of the cloister range.
An inventory taken in 1536 records little of value and the house was probably already in decline when it was suppressed a year later. In 1547 Sir Henry Jerningham converted the buildings to the north of the cloister into a private house but little of this survived when the priory was dismantled in 1784. Around 1825 the floor of the refectory undercroft was raised and the building was converted into a cottage which was occupied until 1902.
The hidden gem in this unassuming ruin is its 14th century refectory undercroft. Its vaulted brick ceiling is an important early example of the use of brick in England. Supported on Purbeck marble columns, it is still almost complete and retains much of its original plasterwork. The only parts of the church to survive are a stretch of the south aisle, the west wall and parts of the north wall. The foundations of some of the brick-faced piers that supported the cloister arcade are visible, but nothing remains of the west range except the flintwork cloister wall, which is pierced near the north end by a 14th century doorway. At the back of the refectory is a fragment of Jerningham’s 16th century house that escaped destruction, which includes a reused 14th century doorway.